Yo soy Roman Christofer Molina Jr

1509908_10101467300654896_1383672173_n

(TFL) Welcome back to TheFightersLife.net, a Muay Thai blog-site dedicated to building and high-lighting Houston and Texas Muay Thai talent.

Today we have Roman Molina with us. Roman, who was previously ran over by a truck; refusing to allow that from stopping him from compete in the sport he loves, returned to the ring to put on an exciting fight at “Muay Thai Kingdom 1” back in December.

Roman has been around the Houston scene for quite some time, both in martial arts and in the Music Scene of Houston. In the past Roman had a lot of success in the music industry as front man for hardcore band “The Last Star Fighter”, now Roman is taking his learned skillsets and applying them to the sport he loves “Muay Thai”.

Roman, thanks for hanging out with us, congratulations on a great showing. Let’s get the ball rolling. Share a bit about yourself?

(Roman Molina) Yo soy Roman Christofer Molina Jr. I came out of the womb and teeped the Dr. (Laughs) I’ve been training Muay Thai for around 5 years, and some other “fighting” stuff a little longer.

(TFL) (Laughs) Tell us a bit about your home gym, how long have you guys been around and where is it located?

(Roman Molina) King’s MMA has been around a little less than a year, but I’ve trained with Kru Ali at a few other gyms for some time. King’s is on Richmond and Fondren.

(TFL) So you’ve been working with Ali for a while, care to share a bit?

(Roman Molina) Kru Ali is from Jordan. He’s a great guy and great coach. He has coached and fought all over the world; true international player. The only thing he cares more about then his fighters is Muay Thai. ‘PURE’ Muay Thai, as he always says…that and animal crackers. He doesn’t always know the correct english word for what he is trying to relay, so it can make for some pretty awkward moments, which are always awesome.

(TFL) What is it about Muay Thai that attracts you to this sport so much?

(Roman Molina) I love the tradition of the sport. I love the sharpening of the mind and body. I love the violence. I love when you see another fighter at Chick-Fil-A and he sees your Fairtex hoodie and you both wai. I love the camaraderie that comes from punching your brothers in the face.

(TFL) I agree, there is a wonderful and positive culture of sportsmanship and brother/sisterhood that is hard to find. You fight each other, become friends, joke around, cross spar and even fight each other again. I love the culture of camaraderie across gyms and all the teamwork that it takes to build a fighter.

How did your last fight for MTK1 go?

(Roman Molina) My last fight was a lot of fun. Muay Thai Kingdom did a great job on the event and the show. I lost a split decision. I know everyone who loses a split decision says they think they won, but I was a little surprised by the decision. However, I know that I should have definitely done more. That’s what always bugs you after a loss like that. Either way, I had tons of fun and I landed some of my favorite techniques; jump knee, backfist, a few throws. I was also really astounded by the amount of support I got from my friends, family, and gym family. I made a lot more friends from the fight as well. The last sanctioned fight I had before this one was at the IKF in Florida. I was pretty stoked to be there because it was my first fight since being run over by a truck. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to fight after that, but I made it back there. I won the first round and lost the second round to the dude who ended up winning the belt.

(TFL) I find that’s the best attitude about the Muay Thai culture, it’s about just getting in there and put on a good fight. Quite often, your performance is more important than the win itself.

Going forward, what’s your game plan for the future?

(Roman Molina) I plan to fight as much as I can before I’m too old. I fear that point is rapidly approaching! I plan to test in Thailand for a Kru title and coach.

(TFL) That’s a great plan, brother. Just keep fighting and getting experience. A Kru certification is a wonderful goal; there are a lot of great active gym’s that have “mentorship” programs.

Any training buddies we should be on the lookout for coming out of your school?

(Roman Molina) Yezir!

Grant ‘The Diamon’ Garnett. He’s 11 years old, and he is already tearing it up.

Morgan Oriahi is a beast. He works like a maniac and he is on the card for the next Legacy.

Also Roger Rodriguez, we train together a lot. He’s got desire and the dedication. He’s going kill.

(TFL) That’s some good people to put on our radar. Are you excited about the upcoming Muay Thai Kingdom card?

(Roman Molina) Heck ya man! The last one was RAD. Whether I’m on the card or not, I’ll be there.

(TFL) That’s great, support is key to the continuing success of Muay Thai in Houston.

Anything else you would like to add?

(Roman Molina) Eat your veggies.

(TFL) works for me! (Laughs)

mta-logo

2 responses to “Yo soy Roman Christofer Molina Jr

  1. Great interview of Roman. He is a high spirited and dedicated person when it comes to Muay Thai and I’m sure many other things. I am happy to have met him through training together at our home away from home, Kings MMA. I look forward to fighting soon as well, there is work to be done!

    Like

Leave a comment